self-guided walking tour of the historic buildings that still stand in Port Stanley. The beautiful yellow-bricked Victorian mansion built in 1873 by telegraph/telephone operator and first postmaster Manual Payne, is now a bed and breakfast called Telegraph House. The red-bricked clothing store called Russell House has retained its original name, and was originally one of the first hotels in Port Stanley. A pine-planked clothing store is housed in the oldest building on the tour. It was originally the livery, then a candy shop and was even used as the village hall. Built in 1854, the beautiful home that is now the Windjammer Inn is also named as a tribute to its original owner Sam Shepard, who was known for his fleet of windjammer ships. Shepard used to give a top hat to the captain of the first boat to arrive in Port Stanley harbour each spring. The tradition is still continued today.
A huge mural on the storefront depicts the 1902 rescue of the crew of a schooner which ran aground in Port Stanley harbour during a vicious gale storm. Across the street from the market sits a cork kiln, built in 1915 for drying the cork used for floating fish nets.
There does not seem to be good cycling trails around Port Stanley compared to what we found in Port Dover. The cycling "path" to St. Thomas is alongside traffic on a lightly used county road. The Elgin Hiking trail is supposed to start at the main beach in Port Stanley and continue north for 41km. We searched for the trail for a while but were unable to find it and none of the locals seemed to know about it. We may try again on our next visit.